Last updated on: 1/30/2017 | Author:

Sep. 25, 2017 – Trump Administration Announces New Travel Restrictions

“The Trump administration has unveiled new travel restrictions on certain foreigners from Chad, Iran, Libya, North Korea, Somalia, Syria, Venezuela and Yemen as a replacement to a central portion of its controversial travel ban signed earlier this year.

The new restrictions on travel vary by country and include a phased-in approach beginning next month…

Individuals with that ‘bona fide’ exception — such as a foreign grandparent of a US citizen — can still apply for visas until October 18. After that date, the new restrictions on travel will begin. The revised travel ban effecting those from six-Muslim majority countries officially expired earlier Sunday, and Sudan was removed from the list of affected countries.

The new list of countries notably includes several non-Muslim majority nations, including North Korea and Venezuela. In most instances, travel will be broadly suspended, while in other cases, travelers will have to undergo enhanced screening and vetting requirements.

For instance, foreign nationals from North Korea are banned, but a student from Iran will be allowed in, subject to ‘enhanced screening and vetting requirements.'”