Last updated on: 1/30/2017 | Author:

1913 – Bureaus of Immigration and Naturalization Created and Moved to the Department of Labor

“The administrative changes first transferred the Bureau of Immigration
from the Treasury to the newly created Department of Commerce and Labor
(1903), expanded the functions of the Bureau into a Bureau of
Immigration and Naturalization (1906), and moved the Bureau to the
Department of Labor when the latter was separated from Commerce and
divided it into separate Bureaus of Immigration and Naturalization, each
with its own commissioner (1913).”