Last updated on: 1/9/2008 | Author:

Texas Catholic Conference Biography

Pro to the question "Should the Government Allow a Path to Citizenship for Undocumented Immigrants?"

“Catholics derive our special concern for the immigrant from the many biblical accounts of immigration. The Catholic Church supports immigration reform that is merciful, charitable, and compassionate to those here simply working for a better life, while also recognizing the legitimate responsibility of the federal government to maintain control of our nation’s borders.

  • Support comprehensive immigration reform including a pathway to citizenship.
  • Oppose efforts to compel local and state agencies to enforce federal immigration laws.
  • Oppose efforts to reduce access to education and healthcare for immigrants.
  • Oppose efforts that hinder immigrants’ ability to get Texas drivers’ licenses and IDs.
  • Support care for unaccompanied minors and reunite families separated by migration.”

Texas Catholic Conference, “Legislative Agenda,” (accessed May 18, 2016)


“The Texas Catholic Conference is the association of the 15 Roman Catholic dioceses of the State of Texas. The Conference was established as the fifth State Catholic Conference in 1963.”

“About TCC,”, June 6, 2007


“The primary purpose of the Conference is to encourage and foster cooperation and communication among the dioceses and the ministries of the Catholic Church of Texas. A major function of the Conference is to be the public policy arm of the Conference’s Board of Directors, the bishops of Texas, before the Texas legislature, the Texas delegation in Congress, and state agencies. The public policy issues addressed by the Conference include institutional concerns of the Catholic Church as well as issues related to Catholic social teachings.”

“About TCC,”, June 6, 2007

"The Conference relates directly to virtually all of the ministries of the Catholic Church in Texas. There are 20 departments of the Conference representing the usual departments in each (arch)diocese. They are: Episcopal, Administration, Finance, Judicial Vicars, Liturgy, Religious Education, Priests' Representatives, Religious, Deacons, Superintendents of Schools, Vocations and Seminaries, Catholic Charities, Social Action, Hispanic Ministry, African-American Ministry, Family Life, Ecumenism, Communication, Youth Ministry, and Pastoral Councils." ("About TCC,", June 6, 2007)